Early years education: what is your child learning?

Whether your child is at nursery, playgroup, preschool or with a childminder, they will be laying the foundations for starting school.

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage framework?

Every child’s early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and safe; and support their development, care and learning needs.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS) exists to support all professionals working with pre-school children.

In 2012, the framework was updated to focus on how parents and carers support their child’s development.

Happy little boy colouring

How can you help with your child’s learning?

All the fun things you do with your child, from playing and exploring to creative and physical activities at home support their learning and development and will have a lasting impact on their progress.

The EYFS sets out:

  • The legal requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare
  • The seven areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge
  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress

Useful Links

ChatHealth logo

Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust runs a confidential secure text messaging service for parents of children aged 0-19 years called Chat Health. The service operates Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm, excluding bank holidays. All texts will be responded to by a public health nurse (health visitor/school nurse) within 24 hours. Outside of the service working hours, you’ll receive a message back to inform you that your text will be responded to once the line reopens.

Should you require urgent health advice in the meantime, please contact your GP, visit an NHS walk-in centre or call NHS 111. For emergencies, dial 999 or visit A&E.

Leicester City: text 07520 615381

Leicestershire & Rutland: text 07520 615382

Healthy Together Logo